#### SWAZILAND

Date of Elections: May 16 and 17, 1972

## Reason for Elections

Elections were held to renew all the members of the House of Assembly on the normal expiration of their mandate. This marked the first general election since Swaziland gained independence in September 1968.

## Characteristics of Parliament

The Parliament of Swaziland is bicameral.

The House of Assembly is comprised of 24 elected members, 6 members appointed by the King, and the Attorney-General, who has no vote. The Speaker and the Deputy Speaker, elected by the House, may be chosen either from its own members (other than the Attorney-General, Ministers or Assistant Ministers) or from among persons who are not members but are qualified to be such.

The Senate consists of 12 members: 6 elected by the members of the House of Assembly and the remaining 6 appointed by the King.

The term of office of all parliamentarians is 5 years.

### Electoral System

All citizens of either sex at least 21 years of age, who are registered on the electoral lists of their constituency, have the right to vote. The insane, criminals under sentence of death or imprisonment for or exceeding a term of 6 months, and persons guilty of electoral fraud are disqualified from registration.

Electoral lists, compiled within each constituency, are continuously updated. Voting is not compulsory.

Any person ordinarily resident in Swaziland, qualified for registration as a voter and so registered in any constituency may be elected to the House of Assembly. Persons under allegiance to a foreign State, those connected with certain government contracts, those holding public or election-connected offices, undischarged bankrupts, and members of the armed forces are disqualified. Moreover, there is incompatibility of office as regards members and Senators.

Candidatures must be submitted to the returning officer on the date specified by the latter. Any candidate to the House of Assembly must be backed by at least 10 electors of the constituency he wishes to represent. Further, a deposit of 100 rands must be made in order for his candidature to be valid. For electoral purposes, Swaziland is divided into 8 constituencies; in each the 3 candidates who have obtained the most votes are declared elected.

A by-election is held within 6 months to fill any seat of an elected member which becomes vacant between general elections.

# General Political Considerations and Conduct of the Elections

The National Liberatory Congress Party (NLCP) provided the main opposition to the majority party, the *Imbokodwo* National Movement, which held all 24 elective seats in the previous Parliament.

Three other parties were likewise in the opposition. Of the 37 opposition candidates 29 did not obtain sufficient votes to recoup their deposits.

The *Imbokodwo* majority, led by the outgoing Prime Minister, Prince Makhosini DIamini, nephew of King Sobhuza II, lost only 3 seats to the NLCP, headed by Dr. Ambrose Zwane.

Following the elections, Prince Hakhosini DIamini reconstituted his Cabinet, adding 3 more Ministers of State therein.

# Statistics

Political Group	Number of Elective Seats in the House of Assembly
Imbokodwo National Movement	21
National Liberatory Congress Party (NLCP) .	3
	24

1. Distribution of Seats in the House of Assembly